Can I switch from one theme to another without loosing my data?
Customers commonly ask us if they will lose content when they switch from one theme to another. You will not lose content.
Posts, pages, comments, users and settings are all saved into a database. If you are switching from one theme that has a custom post type built-in to a theme that does not have the same custom post type built-in, then this content will not display in your new theme. You will not ‘lose’ the content as this is still saved in the database. For example, some of our themes have the ‘Portfolio’ custom post type built-in. If the new theme you are switching to does not have built-in support for the Portfolio custom post type it would not have the ability to display the content (that is saved in the database).